Official: English clubs leave the plan for the creation of the European Super League

After Manchester City officially withdrew from the European Super League, the other five Premier League clubs have also officially withdrawn from the project.

City was the first of 12 clubs to officially announce they would leave the project, less than 48 hours after its creation was announced.

Now Chelsea, Manchester United, Arsenal, Liverpool and Tottenham Hotspur have all confirmed they will not be taking part.

The concept proposed by 12 European clubs destroys that dream” La Liga  delivers statement on Super League

They will currently include only Juventus, Milan, Inter, Real Madrid and Atletico Madrid.

Barcelona, ​​meanwhile, had a clause in their contract that allowed them to withdraw without paying a penalty if they were not voted on by the Assembly.

“Liverpool Football Club can confirm that our involvement in the proposed plans to form a European Super League has ceased.”

The statements were all brief, but were issued almost simultaneously at 24:00.

“As a result of listening to you and the wider football community in recent days, we are withdrawing from the proposed Super League. “We made a mistake, and we apologize for it,” Arsenal wrote.

Prime Minister Boris Johnson had praised Chelsea and Manchester City for working to get out of the European Super League, calling it the right decision. /Telegraph/

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *